Live: Shadow Cabinet Collapses As Members Resign Over Corbyn’s Brexit Performance

Corbyn sad
Nine members of the shadow cabinet have resigned today after Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn failed to deliver an ‘In’ vote in the UK’s European Union membership referendum, and fired Hilary Benn. Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership of the Labour party looks increasingly imperriled as: Fired: Foreign secretary Hilary Benn was fired by leader Jeremy Corbyn Resigned: Shadow health secretary Heidi Alexander — “change of leadership is essential” Resigned: Shadow minister for young people Gloria Del Piero Resigned: Shadow Scottish secretary Ian Murray — called the dismissal of Benn “the final straw” Resigned: Shadow transport secretary Lillian Greenwood Resigned: Shadow education secretary Lucy Powell Resigned: Shadow environment secretary Kerry McCarthy Resigned: Shadow chief secretary to the Treasury Seema Malhotra Resigned: Shadow Northern Ireland secretary Vernon Coaker Resigned: Shadow Lord Chancellor Lord Falconer Live Updates: 1850 — That Tom Watson statement in full “I was deeply disappointed to see Hilary Benn sacked in the early hours of this morning and equally saddened that so many talented, able and hard-working colleagues felt they had to leave the shadow cabinet. My single focus is to hold the Labour party together in very turbulent times. The nation needs an effective opposition, particularly as the current leadership of the country